"Communications a joke!"

About: Royal Oldham Hospital

Anything else?

After being admitted to hospital in March with an inflamed gall bladder I was told I would need to see a specialist in that field. I received my appointment to attend outpatients to see the surgeon who specialises in this field. After checking in with the receptionist I was told to wait which I did for at least an hour n an half I noticed everyone who arrived after me had been seen so when I asked the receptionist ( who was very rude by the way!) they told me I will be seen soon so I waited some more so I asked again then they asked the nurse if my notes were in their pile of who is next to be seen. I wasn't. After the nurse and receptionist looked around for them the receptionist found them on her desk they hadnt passed them on. As u can imagine I was not amused! Finally got an admission date for 12/6/13 low n behold I get to admissions the receptionist were carrying on gossiping whilst I was waiting to be seen the when they did speak to the informed me my op was cancelled n someone tried to contact me regarding this. I thoroughly disputed this has I has no phone calls received or missed. So I checked with the receptionist who discovered my phone number was correct has I had give it to them at the initial admission, outpatients appointment, pre operative assessment. Do after waiting for 20 minutes for someone to speak to about the cancellation I asked them the likely hood of the op being cancelled when I finally get another admissions appointment they said its a possibility. As you can imagine this I was not impressed as to attend all these appointments and prepare to stay in hospital have a procedure n recover time, I've had to arrange time off work and to be messed about in this manner is unacceptable. Waiting for the hospital to rearrange my operation and to know it could be cancelled again and just not knowing anything to make plans and arrangements is very unfair the whole situation feels like I'm stuck in limbo.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Oldham Hospital

Thank you for your comment regarding your visit to The Royal Oldham Hospital. We are very sorry to read you were not happy with the service we provided. You have not stated the department you visited so will be unable to forward your comment. If you would like us to investigate your concerns, please contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0161 604 5897.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story