"Waste of doctors time."

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as a service user),

Beginning of March went to see nurse regarding problems with hearing. No problems to be seen. Asked nurse to request my GP refer me for treatment. Unable to do do, said I had to see doctor. No appointment available for 4 weeks. Reorganising rotas.

Mid March went to Boots to have hearing test. Deafness agreed. Later that week I again asked receptionist to ask my GP to refer. Unable to do so, I had to see a doctor.

Late in March I saw a doctor to request referral - she was surprised to see me - thought I could have left a message! !

Mid April had letter saying TRAQS were referring me to Specsavers (I had previously received a phone call from TRAQS to say I had a letter from my GP) asking me which Specsavers I wished to go to.

Late April - appointment from Specsavers which I was unable to attend. Rearranged for the middle of May. I attended the appointment. Finally being fitted with hearing aids.

10 weeks is a long time for a minor problem. Which could have been much shorter if I had been told Specsavers did NHS hearing tests.

Waste of doctors time. Not necessary to see a doctor to request a referral when I had been examined by a nurse.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Cathie McKenzie, Patient Advisor, TRAQS, NHS Telford and Wrekin CCG

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent experience which you feel could have been dealt with much more efficiently by your local GP Practice. I am sure you will understand that I am unable to comment on the service you received from them. However, I should point out that not all branches of Specsavers conduct NHS hearing tests and consequently these can only be arranged following a medical referral. TRAQS processes these requests when they are received from your practice and contacts the patient to offer a choice of where they would like to attend their apppointment.

However, I am pleased to note that you have since attended an appointment and are now benefitting from your new hearing aids.

Once again many thanks for your comments.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story