"if you don't know don't guess"

About: Sittingbourne Memorial Hospital

Anything else?

My teenage son was circumsised and was in a great deal of pain. Upon seeing a nurse he was told it was not infected and essentially stop complaining. 2 days later he was admitted to hospital and given morphine for the pain and intravenous antibiotics for the infection.

He was borderline for,more,surgery.

I have been advised not to put my true thoughts down, but i will have to become one of these people who insist on second opinions.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Kent Community Health NHS Trust

We are very sorry to hear about the distress caused to your son and yourself. We have spoken to the manager at the Minor Injury Unit and without all the details of your visit it's not possible to fully investigate what happened. However the manager has provided this response:

"...This appears to be a post-operative concern and would have been something that we can assess in MIU. In some cases where we are unsure of the surgeon's preferred clinical protocol would then ring the specialist for advice. We do always advise patients to come back if they are not getting better or we advise them to go on to their GP or a secondary care service. We should have been able to address whether there was active infection requiring use of antibiotics. We should also have been able to advise on pain relief. Post-operative wounds can change for better or worse quite dramatically in a short space of time so the condition 2 days later may have been altered from the day of presentation."

If you would like your concerns fully investigated please contact us using the details below. We take your concerns very seriously and would like to have the opportunity to investigate further and respond to you in detail. We hope your son is now recovered.

Best wishes

Customer Care Team

Kent Community Health NHS Trust

Tel: 0300 123 1807 Email: kcht.cct@nhs.net Website: www.kentcht.nhs.uk

Response from Sittingbourne Memorial Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the distress caused to your son and yourself. We have spoken to the manager at the Minor Injury Unit and without all the details of your visit it's not possible to fully investigate what happened. However the manager has provided this response:

"...This appears to be a post-operative concern and would have been something that we can assess in MIU. In some cases where we are unsure of the surgeon's preferred clinical protocol would then ring the specialist for advice. We do always advise patients to come back if they are not getting better or we advise them to go on to their GP or a secondary care service. We should have been able to address whether there was active infection requiring use of antibiotics. We should also have been able to advise on pain relief. Post-operative wounds can change for better or worse quite dramatically in a short space of time so the condition 2 days later may have been altered from the day of presentation."

If you would like your concerns fully investigated please contact us using the details below. We take your concerns very seriously and would like to have the opportunity to investigate further and respond to you in detail. We hope your son is now recovered.

Best wishes

Customer Care Team

Kent Community Health NHS Trust

Tel: 0300 123 1807 Email: kcht.cct@nhs.net Website: www.kentcht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story