"Very unprofessional nursing staff."

About: Southend Hospital

Anything else?

I woke up in agony extreme abdominal pain. Arrive in A&E at 7 to an empty waiting area. Got seen by triage nurse at 0715. Told nurse during triage I took paracetamol at half 6 and still in agony, nurse told me that once my urine is checked she will sort me out some pain killers. Also told nurse I am allergic to penicillin and asthmatic so sensitive to ibruprofen. At 7.30 still no pain killers, saw a HCA with short dark hair and nurse with short blonde hair chatting away very loudly with receptionist. I went to ask them if I could get some pain killers as triage nurse said I could have it after once my urine is checked. HCA confirm at reception that she checked my urine and its all find. Blonde nurse was very polite and told me that she will get some1 to sort it out for me. At 0800, a male nurse came out in reception and told me that he got some pain killers for me. As I was about to take tablet I aske what the tablet was he reply codein and paracetamol. I told him I told the triage nurse I took paracetamol at half 6 and ask why they were giving me more paracetamol. Nurse left without even apologising. So far it's been more than an hour am in agony and no analgesia provided. I went to reception again and requested in desperation for some analgesia as this pain was making me feel nuaseas and clammy. The HCA with dark hair shouted your analgesia was sorted out earlier. I explain I couldn't take it as it contain paracetamol and HCA shouted at me in the waiting room I quote "You wnt overdose on four paracetamol" finally I got seen called by a sister to see dr at 0815, she just hand me over my a tablet didn't even aske me for my allergies, I was in so much agony I took it then realise it was ibruprofen. This was a very bad experience at southend hospital, and its scary and made me wonder if they know about safe handling of medication and patient safety.. how unprofessional and rude of the hca to shout across the waiting room to me like that and to make a statement of that sort. Where is care,compassion and dignity gone!!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Steve McEwen, Patient Experience Lead, Patient Liaison, Southend University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Anonymous,

I was truly sorry to learn of your concerns. We would like to look into this for you and ask that you contact me. this can be by e-mail - complaints@southend.nhs.uk or by phone on 01702 385144. Our office is also open Monday to Friday 0900 to 1600.

I look forward to hearing from you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Southend Hospital

I was truly sorry to learn of your concerns. We would be happy to look into these further and ask that you contact us via complaints@southend.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story