"This hospital is disgusting in the lack of care &..."

About: Grantham & District Hospital

Anything else?

Dirty floors, elderly patients left unattended to. No wonder the Noro Virus has taken over.

The local newspaper and local MP need to take urgent action. The elderly are largely ignored.

I am raging with anger at the way that my elderly aunt has been treated. Someone needs to investigate Ward 1 now. Yes there are a few good staff but they are in the minority.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

I am so sorry to read your story and I can sense your anger - please get in touch with me directly at: jennie.negus@ulh.nhs.uk so that we can investigate your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Nick Boles' Office, MP for Grantham and Stamford

I was sorry to read that you are not happy with the treatment that your elderly aunt received.

I trust that Patient Services at United Lincolnshire Hospitals Trust (ULHT) will look into the matter immediately but do not hesitate to get in touch with me at nick.boles.mp@parliament.uk if I can be of any assistance.

Nick Boles MP

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

I am sorry that you haven’t been able to get in touch with me which would have helped to investigate the issues you have raised; however that doesn’t mean we haven’t looked into this.

I discussed your story with the sister on Ward 1 and she was extremely upset to read about your experience. You are right that the hospital has had recent norovirus challenges as have a number of hospitals in the country but these cases were people admitted from the community as opposed to poor hospital hygiene.

Ward 1’s cleanliness audits and standards have not given us cause for concern and patient feedback has been extremely positive for the ward; however, that said your story paints a different picture which is why I was keen for some more information. Please be assured that whether you get in touch again or not that your feedback has been listened to and taken back to ward level.

Thank you again and please once again accept my sincere apologies.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story