"Why do we all pay for these services"

Anything else?

I went to Warminster hospital yesterday with a reccuring lung infection that i get roughly annualy. From previous visits i was not expecting for anyone to try and find out why this happens but the usual temp, blood pressure and oxygen level tests before being fobbed off with more amoxycilin. However this time they really raised the bar. After confussion due to my registered practice closing down 2 years ago (god bless u NHS). I was ushered in to see the duty gp. After refusing any antibiotics because in their words "theres too much in the press about GP's treating everything with antibiotics". I appreciate this may be a problem however surely when its necessary, its necessary. Granted i am not qualified to decide this however every other doctor i have seen inthe previous years are.

After being refused any treatment i was told if it is still the same tomorrow then come back. So effectively i was told i could have antibiotics if i endure one night of no sleep and agony. I can't believe thats standard practice.

I have logged a complaint through the official complaints service however after reading some comments on this website i am less that hopeful of a reply. Just to be clear i do not write this to demand compensation but to make people aware that this happens.

Appologies for the rant, not had a lot of sleep

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Warminster Community Hospital

Thank you for your comments.

From the information in your post, it appears that your concerns mainly relate to the out of hours GP service, rather than the services provided by Great Western Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust at Warminster Community Hospital.

Because we don’t provide the out of hours GP service, it's unlikely we'd be able to help on this occasion. However, we'd be happy to talk to you and advise on the best way to take your concerns forward. Our Customer Service Team can be contacted on 01793 604031, should you wish to discuss any aspect of your concerns.

Great Western Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story