"Non-pain Management"

About: Kent & Canterbury Hospital

Anything else?

Having long-term chronic pain, which is debiliating and mobility restricting, it confounds me that pain managemen clinic/procedures are held in an area unsuitably furnished with such long waiting times. Staff at reception desk talk amongst themselves finding it unnecessary to give clients eye contact and no more than one word answers. Poor privacy ie asking full name/DOB/address within hearing of others in reception area. Few chairs with arms most low and various tripping and other hazards to negotiate. Hand sterilising gel on a board well above shoulder height - NOT physically limited/disabled accessible. Walk to day proocedure waiting area via door with no assisted opening - staff member marched ahead leaving the door to close eventually another client opened and held the door open. Waiting area no ventilation, a window looking out to brick wall, low seats with no arms, tripping hazards, poor security of clients belongings and privacy. Client belongings left at desk which was often unattended. Staff sullen (bemused when I asked her name), did not answer questions and discussed intimate details of clients at the desk in the waiting area. Arrived 1250hrs went to theatre for procedure at 1650hr. Prolonged, excrutiatingly painful wait in company of clients in various forms of undress., Both male and female clients in close proximiy . Staff in theatre professional. Ward - into bed space with used blood letting materials on locker, used sheets on floor. Trolley required elsewhere told to alight the trolley and sit in a very low armchair which I couldn't do so stood up . BP/Pulsometer not working - student nurse advised me 'I looked alright'. No checks made of procedure site. No pain relief offered. No offer of drink/food post procedure.. Another hour before seeing a staff member after inital obs recording. In interim made own way to the toilet.Had to ask for my belongings which were still in waiting area. After care advice very poor - ie how the procedure would be evaluated -nurse off handedly advised 'they will call you'. Phoned pain clinic couple days post discharge with query nearly 2hrs to get through to a receptionist who sounded bored and disinterested. Follow-up phone call over 10 wks despite discharge letter stating 6wks. GP won't refer to other agencies unless pain mgment tell 'it is required' - there4 left waiting months, becoming more immobile and in increasing pain. A demoralising experience which I'm sure will not be an isolated one for me or others in the same situation.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback and I am concerned to see the number of issues you have raised. Please do make contact me on Julie.pearce1@nhs.net and I will arrange to have a telephone conversation with you to listen to the issues you have raised.

Your experience is not how I would expect our staff to behave and for this please accept my apologies.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful