"poor communication"

About: Broomfield Hospital

Anything else?

I visited the A&E department with my partner accompanying me late one friday night as i had a severe UTI. As it was a friday night i was expecting a long wait however was pleasantly surprised when i arrived and there were only a few people in the wating area. That pleasantly surprised feeling soon evaporated. I waited and waited for 2 long hours without even being triaged, i asked at reception if there were many in front of me and she said only one. I returned to my seat. About half an hour later, 2 people (who arrived after me) were triaged before me. At this point (as there were no medical staff anywhere to be seen) i returned to reception and asked what was happening. She didnt seem to have a clue but gave me a pot for a urine sample, as i told her i was desperate to go but couldnt in case they needed a sample at triage. Another hour and a half passes and i had had enough, more people going in to be triaged who arrived after me. I spoke to one of the nurses the next time he came out to triage and asked him why i had been waiting so long to be triaged. He got my details up on screen and told me i had already been triaged and i was waiting to be seen by the doctor. I told him i have definitely not been triaged and i have not been seen by anyone! He continued to dispute me and say i have been seen. Eventually he accepted that i hadn't been seen and asked for my urine sample. I gave him it and was told go and sit back down. Still not having been properly assessed in triage, he didn't tell me what was happening next, just to sit down in the waiting area. 45 minutes later im called in by the doctor, who i found very condescending with no empathy whatsoever. Overall i was very disappointed with the care recieved in this hospital as i am a student nurse myself and will strive to give better care than i received.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Broomfield Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post on the experience you had whilst using our services. This is makes very disappointing reading as we aim to deliver the highest standards at Mid Essex Hospitals. So we can investigate the experience you had further can you contact me jonathan.wright@meht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful