"Urgent Care & a&e - Fantastic!! the ENP was..."

Anything else?

I was seen by an ENP after falling down the stairs and hurting my ankle.... they were lovely, gentle and understanding.... I was rushed through Urgent Care, given fantastic service by everyone I saw (Radiographers were a little moody and unapproachable but apparently thats a trait!) and had all my details checked by A&E Doctor.

Unfortunately had to return to a&e due to bad pain/swelling and took a lot of things with us to entertain us for a long wait - however seen within 10minuets of getting there and called straight in to see the doctors.... Trainee Doctor wheeled me round to xRay (which is not in her job description but she said I'd have waited an hour for a porter) and seen by two consultants.

Apart from being sent home with a hospital prescription which means I have to have someone drive me back to the hospital, rather than giving me the medication, I'm very happy with everyone I've seen.

Bad points: Blood on a&e floor, dirty cups/bottles laying around so generally not kept clean and tidy, room i was put in wasn't cleaned so the Doctor had to do it (also not in her job description!).

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Princess Royal University Hospital

Thank you for your comment. We are pleased that, overall, you had a good experience at the Trust. Our A&E department, and the Princess Royal site altogether, has been under pressure recently due to greatly increased numbers of patients coming through the department. This has put pressure on all our staff, including cleaners, porters, nurses and doctors. Our senior managers are concentrating their efforts on improving the way the department works to ensure that in future the issues you encountered are dealt with better and that no patients wait longer than four hours.