"Refuse to see 7 year old with bleeding ear."

Anything else?

My 7 year old daughter has been poorly for a week and at 6 am. this morning woke me with screams of pain due to ear ache. My wife tried ringing out of hours service and got no answer so I took daughter, now with bleeding ears to Stroud hospital where the receptionist refused to let her see a doctor, suggesting she make an appointment at our G,P.'s. We went straight to Locking Hill where they made a 10am appointment. Are your reception staff really qualified to decide who, and for what reason a patient may see a doctor. Some great hospital Stroud has!

Thank you for the total dis-service we received.

Robert Perry

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Stroud General Hospital

Thank you for placing your feedback here, and we are sorry to hear about your experiences. We will be following up your comments to understand what has happened and why, and to ensure any necessary improvements are put in place as soon as possible. If you would like direct feedback, please contact Carol Grimsdale, Matron for Stroud General Hospital.

Ruth Darling, communications manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful