"My mums Care"

About: Lincoln County Hospital

Anything else?

My elderley mum (93) was admitted to Lincoln Hospital late on on Wed 30th Jan at 8pm at night after spending all day in A&E in Louth for a broken ankle, i was called to say they were transferring her because they needed a 2nd opinion and that an ambulance would take her from her residential home at Fotherby. this was 6.30pm by the time she got to lincoln the staff had gone home so she was admitted to stow ward. next morning she was assessed by an orthopedic doctor where they decided to re-pot her and keep her in to allow the pot to set as mum had refused to have it ooperated on and she has a heart condition. We as a family found it to be very difficult to visit as we r in grimsby, im out of work and cant afford the parking let alone the fuel to get there my daughter is at hull uni training to be a nurse and cant get there, however a week later she is still in lincoln having had all her assessemnts and her assessemnt by the residential home to say that she can return, this took place today 5th Feb 12 and she could go home, now weve been told there is no transport available to get her back till tomorrow morning 6th feb 2012, te hospital shouldve booked the transport yesterday knowing full well that mum was leaving today, they couldve always cancelled it! my mum has just lost her husband of 70 years only 5 weeks prior and is still grieving the last thing she wants to be doing is being left in a strange place surrounded by people she doesnt know and a family unable to visit. i will be taking this matter up with Sir Peter Tapsell MP as we as a family thought that hospital beds are in short supply and stretched to the limits i find this treatment utterly unacceptable and will be taking the matter further!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

I am so sorry that you have had such a difficult time whilst your mother has been in Lincoln Hospital; I can only begin to imagine how much harder this was with you being unable to visit; and as you say her worry too being so far from her family. It is hard for me to comment or answer specifics without some more details but I notice you have said you want to take this further and wonder whether you could contact me at patient.involvement@ulh.nhs.uk and I will do all I can to help.

There are times when discharges are delayed and whilst we try and do all we can to minimise these it sometimes cannot be avoided. I can understand your suggestion to book transport in case and then cancel; however that can make it difficult in managing further booking slots for other patients; what we need to do is be clear about when and what time discharges are happening so we get the booking sorted first time.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I have passed your story onto the teams at Lincoln as we appreciate hearing from patients and family about where we can make improvements. And again please accept our apologies.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Lincoln County Hospital

I am so sorry that you have had such a difficult time whilst your mother has been in Lincoln Hospital; I can only begin to imagine how much harder this was with you being unable to visit; and as you say her worry too being so far from her family. It is hard for me to comment or answer specifics without some more details but I notice you have said you want to take this further and wonder whether you could contact me at patient.involvement@ulh.nhs.uk and I will do all I can to help. There are times when discharges are delayed and whilst we try and do all we can to minimise these it sometimes cannot be avoided. I can understand your suggestion to book transport in case and then cancel; however that can make it difficult in managing further booking slots for other patients; what we need to do is be clear about when and what time discharges are happening so we get the booking sorted first time. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, I have passed your story onto the teams at Lincoln as we appreciate hearing from patients and family about where we can make improvements. And again please accept our apologies.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful