"My stay in hospital"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Anything else?

I was taken into hospital (ward B4) on a Friday and there were blood stains on the floor in the bathroom when I was discharged on the Thursday they were still there. Apart from that it was ok, I made friends with a couple of nurses but some of them were quite ignorant, always talking amongst themselves and they were always doing paperwork. I pressed my emergency button because I was in desperate need of some pain killers, I had to wait 30 minutes before a nurse came to me. It took them from the Friday till Tuesday to diagnose what was wrong with me. All in all I don't think I would reccomend this hospital to any of my family or friends.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at our hospital. We are disappointed to hear about your negative experience.

We would like to apologise for the time you had to wait for pain relief while you were in our care. Timeliness of pain medication is of the upmost importance and we will ensure the matron of ward B4 is made aware of your comments. We would like to assure you that we will investigate your concerns about the timeliness of pain medication and will check the systems we have in place.

We must also apologise if there was dried blood on the floor. This does not reflect the standards of cleanliness we would wish for our patients and we are committed to ensuring all our staff adhere to infection control policies.

We do aim to offer our patients the highest standards of care and we are sorry if we have fallen short of those standards on this occasion. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

If you wished to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510 we would happily look into the issues you have raised.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your experience at our hospital. We are disappointed to hear about your negative experience.

We would like to apologise for the time you had to wait for pain relief while you were in our care. Timeliness of pain medication is of the upmost importance and we will ensure the matron of ward B4 is made aware of your comments. We would like to assure you that we will investigate your concerns about the timeliness of pain medication and will check the systems we have in place.

We must also apologise if there was dried blood on the floor. This does not reflect the standards of cleanliness we would wish for our patients and we are committed to ensuring all our staff adhere to infection control policies.

We do aim to offer our patients the highest standards of care and we are sorry if we have fallen short of those standards on this occasion. We welcome all feedback and would like to assure you that all comments are taken seriously and acted upon as part of our ongoing commitment to improving patient experience.

If you wished to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510 we would happily look into the issues you have raised.