"Pain Clinic at General Hospital."

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

Was recently patient as day case in the Pain Clinic .I was treated very well and have no complaints with the Ward .I had a Radio Frequency Ablation which has only made my back pain unbearable.At no stage was I told that this could happen .After the procedure the Consultant told me that my back was a "challenge to her and that I had a difficult back" Now I am in constant pain mostly in my lower back ,much worse than before I had Ablation.

Now I have had a letter to say that nothing else can be done! If I had known this I would never have had this Procedure.Maybe it is because I am 71 and I just have to get on with it!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

We are sorry to hear that the procedure we offered you has not had the desired result and that your pain appears to have worsened. As with all procedures, there is always the possibility that the outcome can be different to that expected, but that does not mean that it is right that nothing more can be done. Although without more detail we cannot promise a more positive result, we would be more than happy to review your case should you be willing to get back into contact with our service, either directly to the department or through your GP. We are a multi-consultant service and it is likely that we can offer you a second opinion (unless your case is very specialised) so please do follow this up. Thank you

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful