"A&E treat you like meat, rest of the hospital..."

About: Lister Hospital

What I liked

If you get to see a specialist then they are very good from what I have seen however the waiting times to see a consultant shown on the site bear no relationship with actual times and in my case the initial waiting time to see a cardiologist was over two months away when it is listed here as being just 16 days and I have taken this dispute up with the administrators of this site.

The wards seemed very clean and one night care worker was rushed off her feet and worked above and beyond the call of duty but I don't know where the other member of staff was during this time.

What could be improved

Visit 1: I visited Accident and emergency four times and was admitted the first time for the night and received intervenes antibiotics for a lung infection and was discharged the next day after having an X-Ray that later showed an enlarged heart that was normal two weeks previous. I don't think they knew about this heart problem at this stage and it about killed me walking from ward 9 to the car park, we all make mistakes and I too put it down to a progressive virus which I clearly had at the time.

Visit 2: A&E Nurse saw me after complaining about being unable to sleep due to SPO2 going down to 85 and waking up panting every few minutes but the nurse had a diagnoses in seconds with X-ray vision after smelling cigarette smoke on my clothes and sent me off to a see a stand in general practitioner.

Visit 3:Taken by ambulance to A&E after ECG reviled an unusual beat and being unable to sleep for two days running I managed to get past the A&E nurse and got the usual tests done a dozen times before and was in the process of being discharged when I objected to my treatment and diagnosis .

A doctor came out who I had not seen before but had been directing the nurse so I explained that my SPO2 would drop to 85 as my pulse rate went down whenever I got close to getting any sleep which could be seen if they simply listened to what I was saying, put me in a room and watched for about half an hour.

This doctor intimated that I had developed some type of psychological condition because I used my own personal Oxoimeter and they simply stonewalled any questions I asked and insisted that I go home.

Anything else?

Visit 4: came later the same day after I phoned the hospital to complain and I was told to come back in if I was not satisfied so I asked that a registrar take note of the case. upon arrival and after a very long wait I was eventually seen by a nurse who conducted another blood test, went on about smoking and sent me home without me ever seeing a registrar.

By now things were getting serious and I was starting to hallucinate and force to contact a private cardiologist on-line who immediately realised my condition was down to as simple case of water on the lung so I borrowed a few diuretics and my problem was gone in no time and since then I have been prescribed three diuretic tablets a day by a consultant at Lister's.

A common sign of water on the lung is swollen ankles but this was not present in my case however it should had been spotted during my visits to A&E and they also failed to spot that my BNP was 688 which was confirmed to me by my GP who had taken a blood test a few days before my final visit to the A&E department but had only just received the results.

So if you have not sleep for two days due to drowning from water on the lung, have a known heart condition with BNP reading of 688, slight chest pains, out of breath, unusual ECG reading then you should avoid Lister's A&E department because they cannot spot water on the lung and treat people like a piece of meat and won't listen to a word you say even after complaining.

Please note that none of the above should reflect on other parts of the hospital who have some excellent staff.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital

This sounds like you have serious concerns about how you were cared for in our emergency department at the Lister. It may be that you've made a formal complaint already and these matters are being investigated, but if not we're sure that are senior doctors and nurses in the department would welcome a chance to talk with you to understand your experience and make changes as needed. If that's something you would like to do, then just contact us on generalenquiries.enh-tr@nhs.net and we'll happily get this sorted for you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful