"I hope i never have to visit this hospital again."

About: St Helier Hospital

What could be improved

While in this hospital I caught MRSA.

Windows did not work in my room.

No curtains or Blinds at the window.

No TV in the room

No cleansing solution in the room or outside the room door.

Room needed a lot of attention to bring it up to basic standards excepted of a Hospital.

Anything else?

After complaning progress was very slow and to date nothing has been done regards the above.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from St Helier Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to let us have feedback about the care you received at St Helier Hospital.

As you can imagine, I am concerned about the points you have raised, especially your comments about infection control and the quality of the room in which you stayed.

I have passed these comments on to both our clinical and estates team and have asked them to look into it as a priority.

However, it would also help for us to have more detail about your concerns. As such, I would be grateful if you could please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). Their contact details can be found on our website (www.epsom-sthelier/nhs.uk/pals) and any information you provide will be in confidence.

Finally, I would like to reassure you about our commitment to infection control and prevention, and to improving the quality of our hospital estate, from our wards and clinics to kitchens and restaurants.

In recent years, we have significantly reduced infection rates across our hospitals. An update about this work can be found here: http://www.epsom-sthelier.nhs.uk/news/news-and-press-releases/massive-effort-to-reduce-hospital-infections/.

In addition, we spend millions of pounds each year upgrading our estate. More information about the funds allocated for this year, including where it is being invested, can be found here: http://www.epsom-sthelier.nhs.uk/investment/.

Thank you again for your comment.

Pippa Hart

Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful