"Ok when finally seeing the Consultant"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

What I liked

When my mother finally saw the Consultant he was very patient and ensured she understand the options she had.

What could be improved

The waiting time! It was originally 40 mins and then went to 11/4 hours. It took 1/1/2 hours for us to see the Consultant. The explanation was that there was a shortage of Consultants. We were then told that one had to go to a meeting. In the first hour we waiting the Consultant we saw only reviewed 2 patients. Most of the time there was no one in his room. Unfortunately most of us do not have that luxury at work. Surely patients come first and meetings should be arranged to fit in with patients not the other way around.

We were given an evaluation form to fill in - but it was about the interaction between patient and Consultant. A high score was given as he was very polite but patients were not able to comment about the waiting time and the work rate.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

I am very sorry that you had to wait for such a long time to see a consultant. Consultants should not normally attend meetings when they are scheduled for clinical time - but there may be occasions when very urgent meetings (eg regarding specific clinical or patient issues) are needed. Please can you contact me with the Consultants details and I will pass on these comments so that they are made aware of how unhappy you were about this situation.

Jenny Kay

Director of Nursing

Tel: 01322 428916

Email: Jenny.kay@dvh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful