"shocking very sad the staff had no idea who i was...."

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

What I liked

nothing

What could be improved

communication to the patients it costs nothing assisting the elderly to drink and eat not just putting it in front of them, then taking it away twenty minutes later untouched. where is the care.water again is free what is the point of having a jug and glass on the table when the elderly can not reach and take a drink for them selves is this why we see so many iv drips with fliud because it saves time. the only way forward is to bring back the good old matrons the staff i saw today were there because its a job not because they care all staff should do a dementia course then they may understand that they are looking after very vulnerable people and have more understanding you certainly put your life in to there hands which is very worrying.. i saw posters on the wall documenting quality and capacity perhaps the staff need to understand the posters,you could say it was down to poor staffing not enough staff there was a empy bed in each bay i looked in.and 5 members of staff sat round the nursing desk i did over hear one nurse ask where a man was they had forgotten they had taken him to the toilets twenty minutes ago he had learning difficulties. this is very alarming and i will be taking this further.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Stepping Hill Hospital

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your experience at Stepping Hill Hospital. I am sorry to learn of the issues that arose whilst you were a patient at this hospital and we would very keen to investigate these matters further. However, before we are able to do so we will need you to provide us with some personal information so we are able to locate you on our Patient Administration System and commence the investigation. If this is something you would like to proceed with, please contact a member of the Patient and Customer Services Team directly on 0161 419 5678.

Julie Pollard

Case Officer

Patient and Customer Services

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful