"my experience of admission and complaints "

About: Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust / Inpatient mental health care

(as the patient),

I was admitted to an inpatient unit detained under section to Ormskirk Hospital.

The care I received there seemed to vary greatly depending on who was on duty. It has to be said that some of the staff were fantastic and cannot be praised highly enough - but there were other staff that talked to me like I was a piece of rubbish... not talking to me for their whole shift, sitting down and playing cards at a table away from patients in the same room. This has left me wholly dissatisfied with the whole inpatient experience - and I would rather die than be admitted there ever again.

Linked to this is the complaints department that have so far had over 4 months to respond to a complaint but have yet to do so. Overall very disappointed with the standard of care I have received from this trust

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Janet Duffy, Head of Service User and Carer Involvement and Experience, Nursing and Governance Directorate, Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust

I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to tell us about your experiences as an in-patient at Ormskirk Hospital. Lancashire Care Foundation Trust really appreciates stories from people who have used our services as it helps us to understand the experience people have had so that we can make improvements to our services.

I was pleased to learn that some of the staff were fantastic and your praise of them will be passed onto the Modern Matron, Team Manager and staff. I am sorry to hear that some of your experiences on the ward have left you feeling disappointed in the care you have received. This information has been passed onto the Modern Matron who will consider the issues you have raised. Once he has done this, we will post a further response.

It appears from your comments that you are waiting for a reply to a complaint that you have made. When a complaint is received by the Customer Care Department an acknowledgement letter is sent, the complaint is investigated by the relevant department or service, and the Customer Care Department keep the person who has made the complaint informed about the progress of the complaint. If you have not received information about the progress of your complaint, or you would like to discuss it further, could you please contact the Customer Care Dept on 01772 695315 or e-mail customer.care@lancashirecare.nhs.uk

With regards

Janet

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Steven Edwards, Manager, Strategic Planning, Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust

I am sorry that your experience of mental health services at Ormskirk failed to meet the aim of delivering high quality mental health services that reflect the aspirations of service users, carers and staff and also reflect Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust (LCFT) values. The concerns and your experience have been discussed with staff at Ormskirk and discussion has taken place to look at how your concerns and experience of mental health services are reflected to staff at Ormskirk.

Your concerns and your experience of mental health services at Ormskirk will be addressed via individual monthly management supervision to enable staff to be able to reflect on your experience and the concerns you have raised. I have also forwarded your comments to Steven Edwards (Head of service Experience)who would be interested if you are agreeable in using your experience as a reflective piece of training for staff in understanding service experiences of mental health services in LCFT. If you would like to explore this option please email Steven at steven.edwards@lancashirecare.nhs.uk.

In the past two years we have looked at measuring the service user & carer experience of mental health service services at Ormskirk through the use of video diaries, this has proved a valuable experience for service users, carers and staff on the quality of mental health services and how they reflect LCFT values. The video diaries experience was then fedback to staff through focus groups which all the staff attended and from this we developed an action plan to improve the quality of mental health services delivered, to ensure that they meet the needs and aspirations of service users and carers. We have repeated the video diaries experience in the past 12 months to enable us to reflect and seek assurance that the quality of mental health service has improved for service users and carers. This also enable us to look at how we might continue to seek ways of improving the experience of service users and carers of mental health services at Ormskirk.

I am sorry that on this occasion the quality of mental health services you experienced did not reflect the aims and aspirations of LCFT to deliver high quality service user centred mental health services. You can be assured that your concerns and experiences will be fedback to all staff to enable them to reflect on how on this occasion your perception of services has not reflected the aim to deliver high quality mental health services. Hopefully this response enables you to be reassured that there is a continuing drive to improve the quality of mental health services delivered to ensure that they reflect the needs and aspirations of service users and carers.

Regards,

Ian Brocklehurst

Modern Matron

Scarisbrick Unit

Ormskirk Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful