"nursing staff are fantastic, waiting times awful"

About: Wansbeck Hospital

What I liked

the only thing i can honestly say i liked is the nursing staff and the efficiency they do their jobs before you go in to see the consultant. The nursing staff have you weighed and blood pressure taken farely quickly after you arrive on the department.

What could be improved

the waiting times are lengthly. and if you have joint problems waiting in one place is very hard work.

Anything else?

times between consultants appointments are a joke. If i could go back now i would have chosen to see a rhumatologist in north tyneside or newcastle.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wansbeck Hospital

Thank you for your comments posted on this website regarding the care afforded to you at Wansbeck General Hospital.

The Trust is sorry to hear of your experience around waiting times and would like to reassure you that we do monitor these. However, as I am sure you will appreciate there are times when a patient will need to have a little more time with a consultant. Please accept our apologies that you had a long wait to see your consultant in the Outpatients Department at Wansbeck General Hospital.

North Tyneside General Hospital is currently part of the Northumbria Healthcare Trust and we could look at moving your appointments to North Tyneside if that would help you. If you would like us to arrange this for you please contact us on the following telephone number 0191 203 1252.

Patient feedback is always appreciated and I will pass your comments onto the staff concerned. Thank you for taking the time to write.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful