"Not a pleasant experience for my mother who looked..."

About: Frimley Park Hospital (Frimley)

What I liked

Efficient staff in A & E . Operation carried out next day. Most staff caring and friendly.

Lots of notices asking visitors to use hand gel everywhere. Generally clean throughout.

What could be improved

My mother was weighed after her replacement hip operation!! This caused her distress especially as she knew her weight. She underwent a second operation within a few days as the doctors were not happy with the x-ray. We were told she had a slight dislocation. She had the worry of another general anaesthetic and had to stay 3 weeks in hospital. She also told us that one nurse on the F4 orthopaedic ward had been very rough handling her. We reported this to the Clinical Manager who dealt with this. This nurse was also cruel to all the patients on the ward but nice when visitors were present. The hospital food was atrocious and my mother lost a considerable amount of weight. My sister and me took her in food every day. Things improved when she was moved to ward F14 where she had more physio but we feel she was hardly seen by a doctor throughout her stay and she will not want to be admitted to Frimley again.

The hospital car park is cramped, expensive and dangerous!! I ripped my bumper up on the high kerb and crashed into a nurses car when coming out of the exit as the markings were so poor. Considering many visitors are in a hurred and anxious state, this car park gets no points at all. I t cost me £350 plus all the fees for parking. The young nurse agreed with me and said that what had happened to both our cars colliding had not been the first time. Luckily neither of us were hurt.

Use of the very expensive rip off tv radio was difficult for my mother to operate. Unbelievable that patients cannot even get hospital radio station for free. The headphones were inadequate and I took my sons in for her to use. Also the phone system was a rip off not being able to phone mobiles. Unless patients have someone to help them set this system up, it was v. complicated. My mother is very capable of using her computer and all her machines at home and is still very intelligent.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Frimley Park Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. You raise a number of points, some of which give us cause for concern. We will of course report back on all points raised to the relevant areas. However we always look to how we might improve whenever a patient is not satisfied with their care and it would be really helpful if you felt able to contact us with more details. This could be done through our PALS (patient advice and liaison service) on 01276 526530 palsusers@fph-tr.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful