"Not happy with poor communication during wife's surgery"

About: New Victoria Hospital / Day surgery

(as a relative),

My wife and I came in early 8am, she had to go for an x-ray and a wire put in place, to remove a lump left breast. I went for breakfast and came back at 12 o'clock, asked where my wife was or what stage. The receptionist said she was in ward 3, but she was not, tried somewhere else and said she was still waiting to go to theatre, so I decide to go home and was told maybe 5pm which I was happy about.

Went home and received a phone call from a man who said my wife was ready to pick up and that was at 2pm - got back into hospital about 3pm, asked at reception and they said who told you that, they then said she had just went into theatre and 2pm and would be about back of 5 o'clock before she could be let go. So I went for a bite to eat. I was so angry I said I have just drove 30 miles to come back and now shall have to wait another 2 hours.

In at 8am

Go for x-ray

Go for wire in placement

Theatre at 2pm

In recovery back of 4pm

Out of hospital 6pm

I reckon it should not be hard to know where patients are at any part of the day. Found it very poor not happy.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Paul Cannon, Head of Administration, Acute Services Division, Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with your recent experience at the Day Surgery Unit. I was sorry that you were provided with inaccurate information about the time your wife would be expected to be ready to go home and had to wait a little longer than you had planned or anticipated.

Obviously I cannot comment on the details here on this posting, but if you wish us to follow these concerns up formally you should email your details to complaints@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and allow us an opportunity to determine how we could improve on our communication with awaiting relatives.


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful