"Problems with wisdom teeth and bells palsy"

About: Royal Stoke University Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as the patient),

I am 22 years of age and knew that one day I would need my wisdom teeth removing as they were growing horizontally, about 4 years ago I had X-rays at my dentist in Sheffield where my parents live and was told to contact my dentist as soon as they started hurting.

I moved to Stoke in 2008 to study at University, in November 2011 I started finding that they were causing me pain, I went to my dentist who took more X-rays and confirmed that they would need to be removed. And referred me to the hospital. Two days later I woke up with Bells Palsy (I had previously had this when I was 16), I went back to my dentist who was fantastic, he told me to go to a&e if the signs and symptoms had not gone or got better after 3 days, they hadn't so I went a&e as instructed.

I got shouted at by a nurse in a&e who pretty much said I was wasting their time - not very reassuring and who was extremely rude to my fiancé who had come with me. I was upset, distressed and furious that a nurse acted like she didn't care what was wrong with me and although she may not have been able to help me she could have been nicer to me during my difficult and scary time.

I went back to my dentist who was also furious at the way I had been treated, he sorted out a specialist appointment with the Maxillofacial department in the central outpatients, they confirmed it was Bells Palsy and gave me tablets - nothing said about the teeth!

Had 2 MRI scans which showed nothing and 3 missed appointments by the specialist - again not very reassuring when waiting for results and help regarding my condition. Luckily during this time my Bells Palsy gradually got better. I had recieved an appointment specifically for my wisom teeth, but as a brand new patient - in the same department!

When I had the final call to say that my appointment had been cancelled I explained how much pain I was in regarding my teeth - ibuprofen and over the counter pain killers were not helping. She explained that booking another appointment would not help the situation and that she would let me know if any cancellations came up.

I got a call at the end of January to say I had an appointment regarding my teeth 3 days later, I went to this appointment thinking that it would something would've done about my situation - well the doctor who very rudely didn't even introduce himself was aggressive and made me feel like he wanted to get me in and out as quick as possible - again not reassuring. He explained that it wasn't my wisdom teeth that it was my jaw - he knew this without even looking in my mouth - have doctors developed new psychic powers?

He explained that there is no point in having them removed (even though the dentist said they needed removing) because there it may not help - I asked if he could do anything for the pain and he said no and that I had to rest - rest my jaw? I work in a call centre making calls for around 7 hours a day, I cannot afford time off work!! He was rude and I actually wanted to cry he made me feel awful, all this and he hadn't even examined my teeth.

He then gave me a document about the 'syndrome' I now apparently have (temporomandibluar joint dysfunction syndrome) which was shoddy and the grammar was terrible, one example; "if you have a lot of joint pains and especially if you difficulty opening your moth", it doesn't make sense, and moth? I have joint pains in my moth? It's just not good enough.

I pay my taxes - some months over £500 for what? To be told my illness, my pain, doesn't matter? That nothing can be done? Although I experienced good dental treatment - I paid for this!

I will now be visiting my dentist in Sheffield and hoping that they can refer me to the local hospital there, I can assure you, I do not want to be treated at Staffs Uni hospital ever again, every second there has been awful and I feel that my health and well being has not been taken into full consideration. I will be taking this matter further to get my point addressed.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from University Hospitals of North Midlands NHS Trust

Dear Steph

Thank you for taking the time to post this comment. We are very sorry that you had the experience you described. We aim to deliver excellent standards of care at University Hospital and are concerned to hear of the issues you have raised. If you feel you would like to talk to someone about your experience, we would be more than happy to discuss your concerns and if necessary investigate them further.

We have made the directorate manager for specialised surgery aware of your concerns. They are available to speak to on 01782 553048 should you decide to talk to someone.

University Hospital