"Disappointing care - would not recommend this..."

About: Nuffield Health, Guildford Hospital

What I liked

Surgeon very professional.

What could be improved

Absolutely everything about my stay here has been terrible. I made calls to department to ask questions pre-admission were not answered, reception staff very unwelcoming, the nurses did not visit with forms and information, call buttons when pressed took up to 20 minutes to answer, my operation was delayed as staff did not get things ready in time for surgeon even though I arrived early. Have had to make a formal complaint about a member of nursing staff who had no manners or care in speaking to me. Nurses left doors open after seeing you in the room so other patients could see into your room. Had to request several times to run through post op care before someone came to talk it through. The rooms were not sound proof so you could hear every conversation from every patient as well as their TVs. Call button sounds were broadcast outside rooms and woke me up everytime one was pressed through the night. Incredibly unimpressed with the experience.

Anything else?

Having had treatment in other Nuffield hospitals I expected the same level of professionalism I have previously experienced elsewhere but was certainly not the case. Hospital seemed understaffed and more emphasis on bedside manner is needed. I did have some good care but was a minority of the people I saw. Very disappointed and pleased to be going home after such a bad experience.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Nuffield Health, Guildford Hospital

As Customer Services Manager at the Guildford Nuffield Health Hospital, I am saddened that we have obviously not managed to provide these two patients with the care and service they expected. We have just finished (in January 2012) an almost year long 9 million pound refurbishment programme to substantially upgrade and enlarge the facilities we offer to private patients and this programme had to be carried out while we had patients in the Hospital. Unfortunately we could not shut the Hospital during this time because of ongoing patient needs and commitments. We made strenuous efforts to ensure our patients were not inconvenienced at this time but this extent of building activity does inevitably have an impact. We have finished this now and are very proud of our modern hospital facilities. We run an ongoing patient feedback process and are working hard on patient satisfaction which remains a top focus for us. Currently over 90% of our patients rate us as Excellent or Very Good and give us great feedback, but we can and will seek to improve our patients' experience of our care and facilities.