"No real communication or care at Manor Hospital A&E"

About: Manor Hospital / Accident and emergency

(as a relative),

My fiance slipped on some steps earlier this year injuring his ankle. After hours of elevation I decided to take him to A&E to check nothing was broken as the ankle was extremly swollen and pain killers weren't helping to relieve the pain. On arrival at the Manor he was told to walk on his already very painful ankle down a rather long corridor to the x ray department (no wheelchair was offered despite him clearly being in a lot of pain).

After the x ray he was again asked to walk back up the long corridor to wait for the results. When the results did arrive he was simply told "its not broken" and given a leaflet. We felt there was no communication or any real patient care. We found some of the staff unfriendly and very unhelpful.

It has been about 10 months since this incident and his ankle is still swollen and he is still in pain. I can not now however pursuade him to go and see a Dr about it as he was told that there was nothing wrong at A&E. I feel that if staff had taken the time to explain how to care for his injury properly with the expected healing timescales then we would both know what to expect for his recovery i.e. know what is and what isn't an abnormal recovery time.

I understand that A&E can at times be very busy (this particular evening was very quiet) but this should never be an excuse for poor patient care.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We're sorry to read your comments and also sorry that we didn't respond to your comments sooner. Hopefully you were able to speak to our Patient Relations team at the time. If you are interested in speaking to somebody about your experience, please get in touch on 01922 656463.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful