"I feel I've had a bad attitude from staff over the years"

About: Cannock Chase Hospital / Colorectal surgery

(as the patient),

I have had an ongoing health problem since the age of 21 and now it is get worse and I just found out they can’t help me any more. I’ve got chronic pain due to bowel adhesions which I got through by getting run over at the age 7. I had internal bruising which we were told from day no 1 would get these adhesions. I said no until age of 14 when I had to have a emergency appendicitis which I had to have a major op, a big cut, nearly dies through it but then when I was 21 I had another key hole op for testicle hernia which they found I had severe adhesions. Then another op, then another op, then other - one year I had 16 ops which my last one was in 2009 at Stoke due to cancelling my op in Sept 09. I had to have an emergency op in hospital nearly 3 weeks.

But what I’m trying to say over the years I feel I've had really bad attitude from nurses doctor consultants receptionist. I now have a go back at time but I tried to do the right thing but over the years until now I’ve try to end my life which this year I nearly did.

I had to have my heart restarted 3 times in hospital, few days they make me feel like this. Also this year I got pushed by a member of staff and they got away with it.

Also I don't feel they keep to their promise words or actions or to make me a care plan until now after meeting with complaints team and a member of senior management.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Matron - Musculo Skeletal Directorate, Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust

I am extremely sorry that you have not had a good experience when using our services particularly that you received a ‘bad attitude from nurses, doctors, consultants and receptionist’ at the Trust. We always strive to treat all patients with the utmost professionalism and are working with staff where a shortfall is identified to ensure practice is improved.

The Trust is unable to go into details about individual care given to patients via this website but I am aware of this particular situation and will continue to offer our ongoing support.

We are also aware of the incident about inappropriate behaviour by a member of staff and this has been formally investigated and resolved. Please be reassured that this has been taken seriously by the Trust