"worst hospital i have ever been in will try not to..."

About: The Princess Royal Hospital (Telford)

What I liked

i was only in overnight and have now got celulitous not a very clean never told anything just sent home no explanation of my illness junior doctors that have not got a clue rude the bedside manner leads a lot to desire

What could be improved

major retraining required and teach the junior doctors proper english one junior doctor never washed his hand from one patient to the other

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Princess Royal Hospital

Thank you for your comments about the care you received in the Princess Royal Hospital.

We aim to provide the highest standard of care for all of our patients. Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not find this to be the case, and that your experience did not match the standards we expect for our patients. We are very sorry to hear that you felt that staff were rude and the hospital and staff were not clean. We undertake regular audits of hand hygiene. Our most recent audit found that doctors cleaned their hands on 94% of occasions where there was an opportunity for hand hygiene, with the overall figure for the Trust being 98%. Feedback from patients helps us to cross-check our internal findings so that we can take action and make improvements where needed.

Unfortunately the NHS Choices website does not share your contact information with the Trust. We would like to ensure that the issues you have raised are looking into in more detail and followed up with the departments concerned. We would therefore encourage you to call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01952 282888 or visit their office near the Main Hospital Entrance. They aim to: provide advice and support to patients, their families and carers; listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries; and, help sort out problems quickly on your behalf. If you wish to make a formal complaint then the PALS service will be able to provide you with more information about how to do this. You can also find out more on the Trust website at http://www.sath.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors

Thanks again for taking the time and trouble to provide feedback about your care, and please do contact us so that we can look into this further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful