"Go to any other hospital!"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

What I liked

None of it, the staff were rude, especially one in particular who was perfectly polite to the older generations but irritable, condescending and plain rude to young adults.

What could be improved

The attitude of people working in a 'care' environment. I was disgusted and appalled.

Anything else?

£5.40 for parking for 2 1/2 hours when it states 3-24hours £5.40.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for uploading your comments about your visit to Russells Hall Hospital. We are disappointed to hear about your negative experience while you were in the care of our general medicine staff.

We always strive to provide the highest standard of care and to treat all our patients with respect and dignity. There is never an excuse for rude or condescending behaviour and we would like to apologise if, on this occasion, our staff did not maintain the standards we expect of them.

The fee for using our car parks between one-and-a-half to three hours is £3.20. It is odd that you have been charged £5.40 which, as you say, is the tariff for parking between three and 24 hours. If you still have your car park ticket and receipt, and you would like us to look into the fee you have been charged, please contact Darren Lowe, Head of Estates for Interserve, via the main hospital switchboard on (01384) 456 111.

Unfortunately we cannot investigate your concerns about staff attitude without knowing which hospital department you visited. If you have names of the staff who looked after you and you would like us to look into matters in more detail, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on free phone 0800 073 0510 and they will be happy to discuss your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful