" Very caring nursing staff"

About: Royal Albert Edward Infirmary / Cardiology

(as the patient),

Best bits

1. Very caring nursing staff.

2. Consult with excellent bedside manner which help me feel at ease.

Worst bits

1. Told to arrive at 8:00am- Doctor saw me at 9:15 and hinted the list was long and I was at the end. angiogram took place at 3:30pm- I had been up since 6:30 and had fasted.

What should change

1. A quick look at the following days list and a phone call to a couple of patients would prevent those at the end of the list sitting about for 7 and half hours!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Judith Marland, Patient Relations / PALS Officer , Patient Relations / PALS, Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback regarding our Cardiology Service, this is very much appreciated. It was pleasing to hear that our nurses were very caring. I am sorry, however, that some aspects of your experience did not go as well as they could have.

I shall pass your comments to the Matron for Cardiology so that she can share these with the staff concerned and also look at the feasibility of the suggestions that you have made.

We very much value you taking the time to let us have your views as this gives us the opportunity to see what our patients think about us and allows us to look at the services that we provide in order to improve these where necessary.

Thanks again.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Judith Marland, Patient Relations / PALS Officer , Patient Relations / PALS, Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Foundation Trust We have made a change

Further to our reply recently, the cardiology team have discussed your suggestions and the Consultant who is clinical lead for Quality and Savety will be taking forward the possibility of allowing patients something to eat and drink prior to the angiogram. This will then be comunicated to patients in the appointment letter.

Many thanks for raising this with us as this has allowed us to change the way in which the service runs.

Regards

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful