"Poor standard of care and knowledge...."

About: Queen's Medical Centre

What I liked

Food was ok. Some of the Nurses try very hard and take the time to care.

What could be improved

Most of the nurses on Ward F18 seem to have either lack of knowledge, little concern/patience or both.

My wife was in for several days and the nurses kept having to be told that her foot needed to be elevated. An old lady in at the same time was ignored or shouted at because she was a little deaf and confused. At one point they pushed her tablets into her hand and left her with no water, ignoring her pleas. One nurse refused to help a lady that had been sick saying "I don't do sick".

The standard of care was very poor and my wife was delighted when she finally 'escaped'.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Queen's Medical Centre

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback with us.

We are sorry that some aspects of the care experienced within our hospital did not meet your expectations. You have highlighted several areas of concern which do need to be addressed by us. Please could you contact our Complaints Team on 0800 183 0204 so we can investigate this immediately and provide you with a full response.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful