About: Northwick Park Hospital

What I liked

One doctor who we saw in A&E on Saturday was helpful.

What could be improved

Our experience of this hospital over the last few days has left us frustrated, upset, confused and worried about future treatment at the hospital. On Saturday I had to take my dad to A&E due to severe pain caused by a hernia. It was so bad that myself and my mum had to carry him to the car. The doctor who we saw was pleasant. He informed us that it wasn't bad enough for him to do anything but to come back if the pain continued. On Monday the pain was so bad that my dad contacted our GP who advised him that he should return to the hospital if the pain lasted longer than 5 minutes. That evening we returned to the hospital. We were seen by a GP who was very patronizing about the pain. He wanted to send my dad home but soon changed his mind upon examination. My dad was then taken to a bed to wait for another doctor. We waited over two hours. When the doctor arrived she took a good history and performed a thorough examination. She informed us that she was concerned about the hernia and felt that an operation should be performed sooner rather than later. She spoke to a collegue who booked my dad in for an emergency operation the next day. When my dad arrived the next day a doctor rudely told my dad that the operation was not urgent and would not be performed. We had to fight for a second option. The next doctor said that they would operate the next day and sent my dad home. Once at home we got a call to say that the operation would be performed either Thursday or Friday next week. Every doctor my dad saw seemed to tell us something different. It feels like no-one has taken us seriously. So far we have not been informed us yet as to exactly which day the operation wll take place on, my dad is in pain and is extremly upset by the whole episoide. No-one wants an operation and my dad certainly would not go to A&E without a good reason. All we wat is some help. Doctors should treat people with respect and not like a piece of dirty on the bottom of their shoe.

Anything else?

We would be happy for the hospital to contact us regarding our complaint.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Northwick Park Hospital

We were sorry to learn of the problems that your father and his family are experiencing with his care. We would like to assist you and to gain further information from you. However, we are unfortunately not able to contact you as feedback placed on NHS Choices is anonymous, and we are not provided with contact details for members of the public who leave feedback for us. We would therefore appreciate it if you could contact the Patient Relations Team on 0208 869 2026 so that we take further information from you and assist you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful