"Awful and chaotic"

About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

What I liked

I attened the A&E in May as I had been suffering from severe pain in my left leg. My initial impression was that the reception staff were friendly although they did seem over run.

What could be improved

I was left waiting for nearly four hours in the waiting area, at which point I was move to the assessment ward. On asking the nurse said this was so that they could hit the 4 hour target.

After being left for another 2 hours I was seen by a consultant, who was both very rude and arrogant. I was felt like I shouldn't have been there. Which I tend to agree with as all the other beds seemed to have very sick people in them.

After being examined and a few tests I was sent home 10 hours after arriving, which I was very happy about.

I have been referred to my GP, who I will be informing that if I need another hospital visit it will not be the Royal Sussex, which is ashame being a Brighton resident.

Anything else?

Teach the consultants not to be arrogant and just see the patients in A&E.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about your experiences in A&E at the Royal Sussex County Hospital. If you would like this investigated properly please contact our complaints department on complaints@bsuh.nhs.uk and we wish you all the best with your future care.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Brighton & Hove LINk

Sorry to hear about this.

We might be able to help you stop things like this happening again. The Brighton and Hove LINk is a health and adult social care watchdog that works independently of the NHS and the government. We have the power to hold the people at the top to account for issues like this and have a good track record of getting changes made. Although we can’t take on your individual case, if these sorts of problems have happened to other people as well we can take it on as a priority and seek action. All we need is for you to complete a short ‘issues’ form to log this problem with us. Is this something you would like to do?

Contact me on community@cvsectorforum.org.uk for more information, and have a look at our website to see what other people have been telling us about local services http://bit.ly/prFDDD

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful