"Over all pleasant enough, but could be..."

About: Tameside General Hospital

What I liked

I attended for a Sigmoidoscopy on 11/4/2011, and have to say that the staff were,extremely good ,they were polite, sympathetic, profesional,and very pleasant. And were more than happy to give me any information I asked for.

What could be improved

I did not like the way I was asked to wait in the gents waiting room, following a enema, I had to dash to the toilet,clutching my plastic bag of personal belongings,which although I had been suplied with a large well fitting surgical gown, it was still a embarasing situation. and I would like to see this point being acted upon.

Anything else?

Is there not some way The recovery area could be utilised, At least you could get changed and prepared for the procedure,and then wait behind the curtains if so desired.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Tameside General Hospital

Thank you for posting these comments. I am pleased to read that you were dealt with professionally and pleasantly when you attended the hospital for a sigmoidoscopy.

I agree that we could improve the preparation for the procedure and will ask the staff in the area to address the points you raise. Insights like yours are very useful and we always try to act on them.

I hope you are fully recovered now

Kind regards

Philip Dylak

“Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved?

Please contact Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing at philip.dylak@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful