"After a horrible painful operation i..."

About: Frenchay Hospital

What I liked

Day care staff were second to none when i had a Haemorrhoidectory.

What could be improved

After a small concern by the doctor i was admitted over night in ward 203.I was taken there at 5.30pm.Although the early evening nurse was ok ,she didnt inform me of anything from medication,showering,buzzer,tv room etc,i didnt see anyone from6.30pm till 10.15pm,(apart from a lady who bought some coffee).After the op i felt dirty,uncomfortable and in pain so went to find someone.I asked a nurse if i could have a clean dressing for my wound,she was put out by my request and told me she had 15 patiients to care for and would come when she could.To be fair she came 1o mins later and done necessary checks.After some confusion with laxitives and medication,she asked why was i aggitated and suggested i get into bed to settle down.I got very upset and told her again i wanted a clean dressing and felt dirty..Other things were said but all in all she was abrupt.,I hear the word dignity mentioned a lot in hospital,this is not what i felt at all.Adding furthur to my distres,I felt childish and pathetic the next day when i had to explain to a new nurse about the night before.This nurse was very understanding.I would also like to praise the man who bouught the food,he was brilliant with the patients,the only thing that made me smile.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Frenchay Hospital

Dear Anonymous – I am sorry you had such a poor experience on Ward 103 and that you did not feel appropriately cared for and that your personal dignity was not respected. The attitude of the nurse you refer to is not what I would expect from a professional in any Trust and particularly here at North Bristol where we have been working hard to build on our reputation for excellent care and patient safety. I am glad that the day shift nurse was more caring and professional in her attitude and that the facilities staff cheered you up. I will pass on you comments to the head nursing and directorate manager for Ward 103 to ensure they are cascaded to the staff concerned and appropriate actions taken.

You may wish to be aware that the Director of Nursing for the Trust is introducing a series of nursing principles or code of conduct for all nursing and related staff, who will have to sign up to these and be judged on their ability to work according to these standards.

If you would like me to undertake a detailed investigation into your complaint please contact me via the trust complaints email address at complaints@nbt.nhs.uk

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes

Advice and Complaints Team Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful