"Shocked at the conversation I overheard "

About: Heartlands Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

Having been admitted for a broken arm I have to say how disappointed I was at my treatment. We are all well aware of the situation of nurses nationally being overworked/underpaid and to be honest I've always thought highly of them.

However after my stay with you I really have to question this. It seemed to me that some of the staff far from being overworked quite often they were playing with their mobiles and standing round chatting. This in itself does not look good but when the one staff member is heard discussing quite racist views that they has I was truly shocked. As the hospital itself is situated in a fairly multi ethnic environment I am appalled that you have staff treating a large amount of non-white patients that hold such views. I am still reeling over the language and the conversation I heard. When somebody is entrusted with such a role I would have thought that they should have the knowledge that even if they have these beliefs that they should not be aired so openly on the ward.

I am still considering whether to take this matter further as I am still actually in a state of shock over it.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Heart Of England NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience at our Hospital and this is obviously not acceptable behaviour from the nurses involved. We are always trying to improve our services and it would be really helpful if you were to contact our Patient Advice and Liasion Service (PALS) on (0121) 424 1212 or by email and provide them with more details i.e. ward/area, time of your visit so we can investigate your issues raised. We will also ensure our Head of Nursing is made aware of your comments.