"Was horrifying, not once have i..."

About: James Paget University Hospital

What could be improved

I contracted an infection due to neglect from this hospital, the staff were very rude and inconsiderate, also too involved with the patients that didnt need seeing to. Whilst in labour with my daughter, i was given a midwife who wasnt fully trained, who wrongly told me to push, ending in my daughter being delivered via c-section. I contracted an infection a few days later (from using dirty equipment!), which was neglected!! In the end my scar split and resulted in further treatment in the maternity ward. I was shunned into a room on my own at the other end of the ward. I got asked by a doctor if blood was coming from my C-Section or my vagina, which i thought was very rude, im sure i know the difference! Now in the process of suing for negligence, and so is a very close friend as she suffered the same i did. The whole experience gave me post natal depression and i shall never again be going into that hospital for treatment!!DepressionInfectionsScarsCleanlinessInconsiderateRudeWardMaternityDoctorsMidwife

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from James Paget University Hospital

The Trust encourages patients or their carers to talk to members of staff if they have any concerns, such as the Ward sister or matron. If there are any areas that we need to improve on we can then look at how we can do that. We cannot comment on the treatment of individual patients but the Trust does not recognise the events described and it cannot identify the patient nor any relevant litigation, actual or threatened. There is no recorded incident of infection caused by unclean obstetric equipment.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful