"I doubt I'd have been treated like this..."

About: Worcestershire Royal Hospital

What I liked

Post natal care.

What could be improved

Quality of antenatal care was abysmal - I was admitted at 08:30 after my waters breaking at 04:00. Antenatal midwife came at 11:00 to say I would be induced at approx 14:00. Didn't see anybody else between 11:00 and contractions starting at 16:30 (approx). Attempted to get pain relief three times between 16:30 and 18:00, when midwife eventually offered paracetamol and codeine. Pain relief did not work but was once again left alone. My mother rang at 19:30 to ask after me and was told that I hadn't been registered as being at the hospital. I gave birth at 01.30 the following day after being told that I should not have been in labour longer than 18hours due to Strep B. I didn't receive the IV antibiotics I needed to prevent the transmission to my baby. Throughout the whole of the antenatal process I was ignored and felt belittled and a burden at a time when I should have been given support and enjoyed the experience.

Anything else?

I work in the NHS and am normally an adament advocate for the treatment given, but experiencing the quality - or lack - of care at WRH means that I would never recommend this hospital to others.AntibioticsPainkillersParacetamolPatient careMaternityMidwife

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Worcestershire Royal Hospital

We are sorry to learn of the specific issues that you have raised and sorry that these were not raised with the senior midwifery team when you were with us.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your specific concerns - if you would like to do this, please contact Rachel Carter, Matron for Maternity Inpatients 01905 733326.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful