"Our son is still struggling to breathe and we just can't get an appointment"

About: Royal Manchester Children's Hospital

(as the patient),

Our son has got breathing problems. We were told to get an appointment for 8 weeks time after we'd seen our GP about our son which we did.

We got a letter to say it was cancelled. We then had to rebook, but the next appointment was a month later. The same thing happened again, it got cancelled.

Our child, who is 1year old, is being investigated and it's really worrying. He's struggling to breathe, he's been in hospital on a breathing machine before. This is a horrible thing for a parent to have to watch happen to their baby.

12 months down the line, we've still not got a proper appointment. We're here for a check up today.

The doctor we've seen here before has been friendly and kind. The ENT nurse we saw last year was really kind, fantastic. The help desk staff are good too.

It's just so difficult getting an appointment, and all the time we're worrying about our son's health.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Tessa Davis, RMCH Patient Opinion Project Lead, Royal Manchester Children's Hospital

Thank you for your comments.

We are sorry to hear that you've had such a difficult time with appointments. It must be stressful having an unwell child and we appreciate that waiting for appointments can add to the stress.

It sounds as though you have now seen someone which is good news. And it's positive to hear that the previous doctors and nurses you have seen in hospital have been helpful.

Please post back if you are still having issues.

Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful