"The hospital was located near to our..."

About: Darent Valley Hospital

What I liked

The hospital was located near to our home

What could be improved

The A&E Department was very dirty! There was caked in dirt around the chairs in the waiting room and someone had been sick in reception before we arrived. When we left (four hours later) it was still there! The drink machine was overflowing with mess and not at any time while we where there was any cleaning undertaken.

The toilets were clean, however according to the monitor they were due to be cleaned, it read minus 225 hours

Anything else?

The triage nurse was very good - however everyone in the waiting room could hear what was being said.

The member of staff at reception was rude and acted like they could not be bothered to deal with the people arriving.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Darent Valley Hospital

I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience. I have asked the matron of our A&E department to look urgently into the issues you mention, which include cleanliness issues and the unhelpful attitude of reception staff.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you have a better experience if you need to attend A&E again.

Jenny Kay

Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful