"Delayed appointment, still on waiting to be seen"

About: Devon Access and Referral Team (DART)

(as the patient),

I went to the shoulder Clinic and was referred to the orthopaedic team by my doctor. A week or two later, I received a letter from DART saying my GP had passed my details on to them and that i should ring an make appointment. I rang in early September and was given an appointment date for a couple of weeks later.

The next day, I received a phone call from DART saying my appointment wouldn't be until the middle of October! I phoned back, to ask why my appointment had been changed and the impression I got from the lady at the reception was that they had to meet waiting list, so some appointments had to be delayed in order to make room for those who are already on the waiting list.

I find that shocking, because now I have to wait a whole month to get served. They prioritise waiting list to meet government targets and end up balancing the list to suit figures they have to serve. I feel that they need to keep to appointments.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Susan Pearce, Project Support Manager, DART (Devon Access & Referral Team), NHS Devon

Dear ‘Jog262’

Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your concerns.

From the information you have given, I don’t think that it was DART who called you back but the hospital you were booked into. However, without more details, I cannot be sure.

If you would like me to find out, please contact me on 01626 883888 and I can look up the records relevant to your referral and then will be able to give you a fuller response.

Kind regards,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful