"the fact i will never go back to the..."

About: Royal Oldham Hospital

What I liked

the fact i will never go back to the maternity department due to suffering a post pregnancy hysterectomy

What could be improved

the staffs attitudes (head consultant/certain midwives/certain HCAs), cleaniless of the ward both post and ante natal - all the cleaner was cleaning was the top of the bin, the mirror and the top of the light - what about the floors and the actual things patients touch and use!!!!! when i complained about anything it fell on deaf ears.

Anything else?

noone has responded to my written complaint about my care whilst at the hospital. i had made a vocal complaint to the consultant i saw 12 weeks after returning home and had a visit from a senior midwife and the ward manager whose promises fell on deaf ears ( where is the post preg hysterectomy leaflet you promised you would set up and asked for my input been over a year and still nothing!!)

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Oldham Hospital

Thank you for providing us with feedback in relation to your experiences whilst being an inpatient at the Royal Oldham Hospital. I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the ward that you were staying on or with the attitudes of some of the staff that you came into contact with. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any upset this may have caused.

I understand that you have already made a written and verbal complaint about the level of care that you received but have yet to hear a response. Again, please accept our apologies with regards to this. To enable us to resolve the issues you have raised, I would be very grateful if you could contact the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0161 627 8678, who will be able to investigate this further for you.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful