"My son was born at Queen Charlotte ..."

About: Queen Charlotte's Hospital

What I liked

My son was born at Queen Charlotte hospital. I went to the Delivery Suite, it was middle of the night. Between the time we called and the time we got there 15 minutes passed and everything was ready for our arrival. The midwife has been very kind and efficient, "pushy" in the right way at the right time.

Enough time was left to me, my husband and the baby after the delivery, so I only had to move to the ward about 4 hours later which was fine.

I'd chosen to be in the Edith Ward, which is the public one. Next time I will for sure go to the private rooms and I would strongly recommend that to whom can afford it.

In the public ward they are understaffed, therefore not giving you enough attention - which you absolutely need especially if you are a first time mother - so you are left on your own having to deal with your little baby.

The other big disadvantage is that the bathroom is shared among more than one room and is located in the corridor, so you actually have to leave your baby alone which gave me a lot of stress as I kept hearing babies crying and I didnt' know if it was mine. Again being a first time mum this can make you feel horrible!

So all in all, I would strongly recommend the hospital and the ante natal classes that are given, but would go to the private care after the birth.

What could be improved

More staff in the Edit Ward

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Charlotte's Hospital

Congratulations on the birth of your son. We are pleased to hear about your positive experience with the delivery suite. However, we are disappointed to hear that you were not given the care and attention we would expect our patients to receive. The Trust is working hard to improve patients’ experience and your feedback will be shared with the relevant teams.

Ref 037

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful