"Nothing the staff do not seem ..."

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

(as a relative),

What I liked

Nothing the staff do not seem to give a dam about the patients

What could be improved

Staff attitude and Specialist Knowledge

Anything else?

My sister was in St Peters in January this year 2010 with diabatec problems.She has been Diabetic since 1973 but was put on to synthetic insulin in 1983 whithout her knowledge. In Jan 2010 Her diabetic consultant argued that animal insulin was no longer available which was total rubbish I found the manufacturers in the UK who will supply in the uk within 24 hours and after a lot of arguments the consultant changed her back to the animal insulin then discharged her 1 day later.She is 100% better and the consultant when she visited his clinic at ashford admitted (in front of a witness) that he knows nothing about animal insulin. Yet there are 1000,s of diabetics in the uk that cannot get on with synthetic insulin.

I also took photos of rubbish bags left in a corridor at st peters and suprise suprise the ward my sister was in was cleaned top to bottom a few days after i passed them to the local paper and the hospital admin.

This place is a filthy hospital with no one there who is bothered about the patients. Attitudes of most of the staff is very poor

I saw a woman press her buzzer one afternoon to get some help and after 8 minutes I helped her as the staff had ignored her

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

We are sorry that your sister's experience at St Peter's Hospital was not better and we do listen to all patient feedback very carefully. We would, however, like to assure all our patients that our diabetes consultants are experts in their field and always advise on the best course of treatment depending on the individual patient's needs.

Whilst it is unacceptable to leave rubbish bags in a corridor, this was a temporarily occurrence due to lack of space in the internal rubbish bag store. We have now addressed this issue and found a larger space to store our rubbish bags until they can be moved off the hospital site.

We do feel it is misleading to say St Peter’s is a ‘filthy’ hospital. Our housekeeping teams take great pride in the work they do at both our hospitals and cleanliness and infection control are two of our most important priorities. Each ward has a weekly cleaning programme which comprises daily routine cleaning and regular ‘deep cleaning’ activities such as floor scrubbing and high surface cleaning.

Finally, we apologise if you felt the attitude of our staff was poor and we appreciate it is far from ideal for a patient to have to press the buzzer several times for attention. We are pleased to say that this is not the experience of the majority of our patients, but when the wards are busy our nursing staff have to prioritise and manage the needs of several patients and some will inevitably have to wait a little longer for help.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful