"Hospital feedback"

About: Tameside General Hospital / Gynaecology

I attended Gynaecology in April and was given a very brief appointment with a trainee doctor. They wrote my diagnosis on paper but didn't tell me - I had to ask. I wasn't given any further assistance just a weeks worth of tablets and the agreement for another appointment in 4 months. I waited over an hour to be seen for just over 5 minutes by a doctor who didn't seem interested nor did she give me any help with my gynaecological illness. I had to call up the hospital myself regarding my follow up appointment only to have the person on the other line laugh and tell me I was on the waiting list. I was then given an appointment to only have it cancelled and rescheduled for a month later. I'm still in insane amounts of pain as the doctor I saw did nothing for the pain. I wouldn't recommend going to Tameside's gynaecology department at all.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

We are really sorry you have had cause to raise concerns and that your experience fell below the standards we aspire to.

If you would like to contact the PALS and Complaints team on 0161 922 4466 or email palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk and provide specific details, we can investigate this for you and address this with the relevant teams and individuals to understand the reason why this occurred and take action to prevent reoccurance.