"A long painful wait"

About: Princess Alexandra Hospital (Harlow)

My daughter was admitted via casualty with crippling back pain. A scan a few days later revealed a perforated disc, the same disc that had perforated 3 years previous. She has been on the ward for two weeks in terrible pain. She has now been told she will have to wait till next Friday before any surgery can be carried out. The nursing staff have been great as have the pain team who have been fighting her corner.

The lack of communication and delay by the spinal team has been unacceptable. She is very depressed and keeping her spirits up till next Friday is going to be difficult.

I am just hoping that somehow her surgery can be brought forward, but I'm not hopeful.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Alexandra Hospital

Dear Anonymous,

I cannot begin to imagine how difficult this must be for you as a parent, let alone for your daughter and although it feels positive that you have had good nursing care and support from the pain team, this must be little consolation when seeing a loved one in pain.

I would hope that the treatment is now complete and that you had a positive outcome. If not, or if there is anything you would like to raise with the team more formally, we are always here to provide, advice, support and information to help you do that. The Patient Experience Team are on 01279 82 80 84 and you can call anytime between Monday and Friday, between 10am to 4pm. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a comment.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful