"Antenatal Unit - Scan ruined by Rude technician"

About: Wycombe Hospital / Maternity

Today we attended the Antenatal and Gynae Clinic at Wycombe Hospital to have our 20 weeks scan. Reception staff were nice, but the scan technician we had was rude, obtuse and brash with us. It ruined what was meant to be a special time for us. They told us we were having a baby girl as we stood by the open door... They did the scan in their terms and for their benefit without thinking of us. Very sad. My wife was upset by the way she was treated. If you have the chance go to Stoke Mandeville, they are much nicer there.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear LHCS

May I first congratulate you on the happy news that you are expecting a baby girl.

However, I am very sorry to learn that you feel the attitude of the technition at your 20 week baby scan ruined what should have been a special time for you and your wife. It is further concerning to read that you were told that you were expecting a baby girl as you stood by an open door and I can understand how upsetting this must have been for you both at the time.

If you are happy to share more detail about your specific experience with us, please contact our dedicated Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01296 316042 or email pals@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk

In the meantime, please be assured I will pass your anonymous comments to the relevant manager for the service for their attention.