"Condition of small outdoor carpark."

About: New Victoria Hospital (Glasgow)

(as the patient),

I am very disappointed that a facility such as the New Vic {where my medical care has been first class) allows the outdoor carpark opposite Battlefield Rest to be is such a poor condition; long term litter everywhere, , broken glass, today even intact bottles rolling around...all leading to a general air of seediness, delapidation and lack of care.

When I approached the employee at the front door with CAR PARK on the high viz jacket I was met with belligerent aggression (once they had failed to dodge me having heard me enquire of the volunteers to whom I should speak about this matter) and informed that it was nothing to do with them. How so? Surely they could at least have highlighted the matter if this area was not within their personal remit? I asked for their name was told I could read it...I could not as the identity tag was concealed beneath aforementioned high viz jacket. When I pointed this out they walked off shouting that the matter had already been reported. To no effect obviously. A complete and utter jobsworth in my opinion and pretty nasty with it. Shame, when all other staff I have encountered on 3 recent visits have been unfailingly helpful and pleasant. Suggest this staff member attends a communication skills course if not anger management. 

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear PMA

Thank you for taking the time to post on Patient Opinion. I am very sorry to read about what you experienced at the New Victoria Hospital car park. None of our patients and visitors should be spoken to by our staff in the way that you have described and I am sorry for this.

I will pass your feedback on to my colleagues in Facilities as they will be able to provide you with more information on the issues that you have raised here.

Best wishes
Lisa

  • PMA thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Response from Lisa Ramsay, Patient Experience Public Involvement Team Support, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde

Dear PMA

Thank you for getting in touch with us via Patient Opinion. I am sorry that you had a negative experience when you were attending the Victoria Ambulatory Care Hospital recently.

We have looked into this matter following your feedback and have contacted the car park management company who provide car park management services for us to investigate.

Their regional manager reported that he discussed the matter with the car parking assistant at the hospital, who remembers the discussion. He apologises if he gave the impression of being in any way truculent. He did accept he advised it was not his responsibility to make good the condition of the car park. He is clear from the debrief with his manager of the need to maintain standards of politeness and helpfulness with everyone he comes into contact with in the course of his duties.

Regarding the condition of the car park, I accept it is in poor condition. We are engaging with the local facilities manager on the site to ensure there is improvement in the patient and visitor experience when they visit the site and use that particular car park.

Kind regards
Gerry McCool
Implementation Manager, Facilities

  • PMA thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too