"A&E staff were excellent. EAU ..."

About: University Hospital Of North Tees

(as the patient),

What I liked

A&E staff were excellent.

EAU staff , only one member of staff treated me with any respect.

The remainder of the staff showed no compassion or care towards me on EAU at all .

I was not given any clear information about what was happening to me.

I felt worried and nervous, but no one bothered to see if I was alright which was awful.

I hate to say this, but they should be ashamed to call themselves health care professionals working in this manner.

What could be improved


Anything else?

I think staff need to follow and adhere to the trust's policies and procedures concerning patients dignity and respect and treat patient's with care and show some compassion please.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of North Tees

We are pleased you thought the service in accident and emergency was excellent and we are sorry you felt you weren't treated with care or compassion in the emergency assessment unit.

This is a disappointment to us too because we want all of our patients to feel they have been treated with care and compassion and we work hard to ensure that all of our staff achieve this. We will feed your comments back to the unit.

If you would like to talk to us about your experience please ring 01642 617617 and ask to speak to Barbara Carr who is assistant director of nursing and our lead for patient experience.

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments on NHS Choices. They help us improve things for future patients. We hope you are making a good recovery.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful