"Good Experience Other than One Let Down"

About: Bradford Royal Infirmary

Visited with the wife at labour ward due to pains experienced by the Mrs being far on into the pregnancy she's in.

The hospital was clean and staff was superb other than having been left to wait for a while without being told of any updates.

There was one staff member in particular that was very arrogant and rude when i went up to ask for an update due to being limited in time to have something to eat being the month of Ramadan. They were totally uncompationate towards myself at first speaking very vague and sarcastically until another colleague came along then the tone of their voice suddenly changed and they asked if I would like something to eat so that I am accommodated appropriately.

I felt that some of the staff totally disregard or dont have compassion towards religious needs and requirements.

The food offered was great though.

So overall a very good hospital just a few kinks.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Bradford Royal Infirmary

Hello, first of I must apologise for the delay in replying - there has been a problem with the site notifying us when someone posts a review, which we have just become aware of. Thank you for your feedback, and I am glad you feel that overall the care your wife has had has been good, but I do apologise that we did not keep you updated and that staff have not been as helpful and compassionate as we expect.

We do expect staff to understand the needs of people during Ramadan, and to make every effort to accommodate people's needs.

However I am pleased that once food was provided, that it was of a very good standard, and will pass that on to the catering team. I will also make the Head of Midwifery and the matron for the area aware of your comments so they can take any action needed.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful