"Upsetting wait for a CT scan"

About: Ailsa Hospital / Old age psychiatry Ayr Hospital / X-rays and Scans

(as a relative),

My husband visited a doctor in old age psychiatry who referred him for a CT scan. After 7 weeks, we had still not heard anything. When the doctor contacted them, the CT people said that there was no record of the referral.

We then had an appointment for today, but yesterday the CT people called to cancel, saying that they were busy and that they would re-arrange for July.

I find it upsetting waiting so long, only for them to cancel.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Reader203,

This is disappointing for you both and I am sorry you have been 'bumped' for want of a better phrase. I would like to help but from your post, I can't tell very much. There may be some other option we can explore but we do need some more information before we can do so. If you could possibly contact me either by phone on 01563 826222 or by email - Eunice.goodwin@aapct.scot.nhs.uk, we can look into it with more information and hopefully get your husband sorted with an appointment as soon as possible.

Kind regards,

Eunice

  • Reader203 thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too

Response from Eunice Goodwin, Patient Feedback Manager for NHS Ayrshire and Arran, Quality Improvement and Governance Team, NHS Ayrshire and Arran

picture of Eunice Goodwin

Dear Reader203,

Unfortunately, this week we had to make the very difficult decision to re-appoint as many routine out-patient CT appointments as possible to free up capacity for acute in-patients. The CT scanner capacity for appointments is limited, but it is always a last resort to change patients’ appointments.

At the beginning of the week we had over 30 in-patient CT referrals and we were under pressure to accommodate those patients to minimise any delays with their treatment and discharge to leave capacity for new admissions.

All of the patients who had appointments postponed have received a new appointment to occur as soon as was possible. I can only apologise for the inconvenience or upset to you and all patients who have been affected by this unavoidable rescheduling.

In your husband’s case, we can’t be absolutely sure of the reason for the referral rescheduling but I would be happy to investigate this further if you wish to contact Eunice using the details in the above post.

Kind regards,

Pam Mitchell

Superintendent Radiographer

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from NHS Ayrshire and Arran

Dear Reader203,

I have looked at the referral and the reason for rescheduling the appointment was as I thought, I had to make the decision to reschedule all routine Out Patient Appointments for that week to free up capacity for inpatients. I see we have now got an imminent appointment for your husband as a result of a cancellation. I am sorry for the upset that this has caused and I will re-iterate this when I see you at the new appointment.

Kind regards,

Pam Mitchell

Superintendent Radiographer

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful