"Concern about delay for new psychiatric appointment"

About: Hairmyres Hospital / General Psychiatry

(as the patient),

I was physically unable to attend my 4 monthly Psychiatric Outpatient Appointment, in East Kilbride, due to physical ill health. It concerns me that I will now have to wait another 4 months to receive another appointment.

My mental ill health is significant and poor at present. Although I am not sure what changing drugs will do to help. I understand that services are extremely busy and that there are not enough staff (Psychiatrists nor CPN's) to meet the needs of the population.

I am the main help for my Father, who has dementia and am really struggling to help him as I cannot fully look after myself (personal care, meals, fatigue, PTSD, pain etc).

I am concerned that people like me are dropping through the net because of physical health problems preventing them from accessing Psychiatric care. I am really struggling with both now.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Anne-Marie Carr, Service Manager, Mental Health Services South West, NHS Lanarkshire

Dear Crow,

I am sorry to hear that you have been unwell and were unable to attend your scheduled appointment. As you are already a patient it is possible for you to contact your consultants secretary to arange a sooner appointment if this is required. You could also contact your CPN.

If you would however like me to do this for you I will speak to your consultnt and discuss the need for you to have a more urgent apointment. You can contact me at Hunter Community Health Centre on 01355597476. email anne-marie.carr@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk

Kind regards

Anne-Marie Carr

Service Manager Mental Health

  • Crow thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} of {{totalOthers()}} other people think so too